Research Teams

Extreme Plasma Physics Team

Extreme Plasma Physics team combines theory and massively parallel simulations to address the highly nonlinear scenarios associated with extreme conditions in the laboratory and in astrophysics involving relativistic flows or high intensity electromagnetic fields. We use the largest supercomputers in the World to address several longstanding scientific questions.

X-GoLP Team

X-GoLP team develops and makes use of state-of-the-art ultrafast and high intensity lasers, both in local laboratories and at world-class facilities. The range of topics investigated covers the generation of novel sources of radiation from the mid-infrared to x-rays, particle acceleration, future laser technologies, and innovative techniques and devices for optical and photonics applications.

Principal Investigators


Jorge Vieira
jorge.vieira@ist.utl.pt

Luis O. Silva
luis.silva@ist.utl.pt

Thomas Grismayer
thomas.grismayer@ist.utl.pt

Ricardo Fonseca
ricardo.fonseca@iscte.pt

Gonçalo Figueira
goncalo.figueira@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

João Mendanha Dias
joao.m.dias@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Marta Fajardo
marta.fajardo@ist.utl.pt

Nelson Lopes
nelson.lopes@ist.utl.pt

José Tito da Luz Mendonça
titomend@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

PhD Researchers


Marija Vranic
marija.vranic@ist.utl.pt

Gareth Williams
gareth.williams@ist.utl.pt

Hugo Pires
hugo.pires@ist.utl.pt

Hugo Terças
hugo.tercas@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

José António Sequeira de Figueiredo Rodrigues
jose.rodrigues@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Post-Doctoral Fellows


Bertrand Martinez
bertrand.martinez8@gmail.com

Kevin Schoeffler
kevin.schoeffler@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Thales Silva
thales.silva@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Wenlong Zhang
wenlong.zhang@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Graduate Students


Bernardo Malaca
bernardo.malaca@ist.utl.pt

Camilla Willim
camillawillim@googlemail.com

Chiara Badiali
chiara.badiali@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Diogo Carvalho
diogo.d.carvalho@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Dominika Maslarova
dominika.maslarova@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Mariana Moreira
mariana.t.moreira@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Miguel Pardal
miguel.j.pardal@ist.utl.pt

Óscar Amaro
oscar.amaro@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Pablo Bilbao
pablojbilbao@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Róbert Babjak
robert.babjak@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Rui Torres
rui.t.torres@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Joana Alves
joanacasanova@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

José Figueiredo
jose.luis.figueiredo@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Mukhtar Hussain
mukhtar.hussain@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

pedro.cosme.e.silva
pedro.cosme.e.silva@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Ruggero Giampaoli
ruggero.giampaoli@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Victor Hariton
victor.hariton.20@gmail.com

MSc. Students


Ana Ramalhete
ana.ramalhete@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Bernardo Barbosa
bernardo.barbosa@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Enzo Figueiredo
enzo.figueiredo@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Filipe Cruz
filipe.d.cruz@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Rafael Almeida
rafaelrussoalmeida@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

alexandru.ciobanu
alexandru.ciobanu@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

André Antunes
andre.fery.antunes@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Catarina Coutinho
catarina.praefke@gmail.com

Gonçalo Vaz
goncalovaz98@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Luís Veloso
luis.veloso@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Mariana da Cunha e Silva
mcunhasilva@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Nuno Torrado
nuno.torrado@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Patrícia Estrela
patricia.estrela@ist.utl.pt

Sebastião Antunes
sebastiao.antunes@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

High Performance Computing Support


Paulo Abreu
paulotex@tecnico.ulisboa.pt