Research Teams

Extreme Plasma Physics Team

Extreme Plasma Physics team combines theory and massively parallel simulations to address the highly nonlinear scenarios associated with extreme conditions in the laboratory and in astrophysics involving relativistic flows or high intensity electromagnetic fields. We use the largest supercomputers in the World to address several longstanding scientific questions.

X-GoLP Team

X-GoLP team develops and makes use of state-of-the-art ultrafast and high intensity lasers, both in local laboratories and at world-class facilities. The range of topics investigated covers the generation of novel sources of radiation from the mid-infrared to x-rays, particle acceleration, future laser technologies, and innovative techniques and devices for optical and photonics applications.

Principal Investigators


Jorge Vieira
jorge.vieira@ist.utl.pt

Luis O. Silva
luis.silva@ist.utl.pt

Thomas Grismayer
thomas.grismayer@ist.utl.pt

Ricardo Fonseca
ricardo.fonseca@iscte.pt

Gareth Williams
gareth.williams@ist.utl.pt

Gonçalo Figueira
goncalo.figueira@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

João Mendanha Dias
joao.m.dias@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Marta Fajardo
marta.fajardo@ist.utl.pt

Nelson Lopes
nelson.lopes@ist.utl.pt

Post-Doctoral Fellows


Kevin Schoeffler
kevin.schoeffler@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Marija Vranic
marija.vranic@ist.utl.pt

Thales Silva
thales.silva@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Wenlong Zhang
wenlong.zhang@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Celso Paiva João
celsopaivajoao@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Hugo Pires
hugo.pires@ist.utl.pt

Susana Silva
susana.silva@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Swen Künzel
swen.kunzel@ist.utl.pt

Graduate Students


Anton Helm
anton.helm@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Fábio Cruz
fabio.cruz@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Fabrizio Del Gaudio
fabrizio.gaudio@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Giannandrea Inchingolo
giannandrea.inchingolo@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Mariana Moreira
mariana.t.moreira@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Nitin Shukla
nshukla@ist.utl.pt

Rui Torres
rui.t.torres@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Joana Alves
joanacasanova@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Jayanath C P K
jayanathkoliyadu@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Mario Galletti
mario.galletti@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Mukhtar Hussain
mukhtar.hussain@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Victor Hariton
victor.hariton.20@gmail.com

MSc. Students


Bernardo Malaca
bernardo.malaca@ist.utl.pt

Lucas Sá
lucas.seara.sa@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Miguel Pardal
miguel.j.pardal@ist.utl.pt

Óscar Amaro
oscar.amaro@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Rui Calado
rui.p.calado@ist.utl.pt

Ana Filipa Ribeiro
ana.filipa.ribeiro@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Beatriz Albergaria
beatriz.albergaria@tecnico.ulisboa.pt
Luís Braga
luisbraga@tecnico.ulisboa.pt
Patrícia Estrela
patricia.estrela@ist.utl.pt

Rui Silva
rui.m.o.silva@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

High Performance Computing Support


Paulo Abreu
paulotex@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Paulo Ratinho
paulo.ratinho@ist.utl.pt