Research Teams

Extreme Plasma Physics Team

Extreme Plasma Physics team combines theory and massively parallel simulations to address the highly nonlinear scenarios associated with extreme conditions in the laboratory and in astrophysics involving relativistic flows or high intensity electromagnetic fields. We use the largest supercomputers in the World to address several longstanding scientific questions.

X-GoLP Team

X-GoLP team is capable of executing laboratory experiments, which are focused on laser techniques and optical instruments, to promote the development of improved devices and alternative mechanisms for a more efficient study of laser and optical properties, as well as to test real evidence of theoretical models taken into consideration.

Principal Investigators


Jorge Vieira
jorge.vieira@ist.utl.pt

Luis O. Silva
luis.silva@ist.utl.pt

Thomas Grismayer
thomas.grismayer@ist.utl.pt

Ricardo Fonseca
ricardo.fonseca@iscte.pt

Gareth Williams
gareth.williams@ist.utl.pt

Gonçalo Figueira
goncalo.figueira@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

João Mendanha Dias
joao.m.dias@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Marta Fajardo
marta.fajardo@ist.utl.pt

Nelson Lopes
nelson.lopes@ist.utl.pt

Post-Doctoral Fellows


Kevin Schoeffler
kevin.schoeffler@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Marija Vranic
marija.vranic@ist.utl.pt

Thales Silva
thales.silva@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Wenlong Zhang
wenlong.zhang@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Celso Paiva João
celsopaivajoao@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Hugo Pires
hugo.pires@ist.utl.pt

Susana Silva
susana.silva@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Swen Künzel
swen.kunzel@ist.utl.pt

Graduate Students


Anton Helm
anton.helm@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Fábio Cruz
fabio.cruz@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Fabrizio Del Gaudio
fabrizio.gaudio@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Giannandrea Inchingolo
giannandrea.inchingolo@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Nitin Shukla
nshukla@ist.utl.pt

Jayanath C P K
jayanathkoliyadu@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Mario Galletti
mario.galletti@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Victor Hariton
victor.hariton.20@gmail.com

MSc. Students


Bernardo Malaca
bernardo.malaca@ist.utl.pt

Diogo Cruz
diogo.da.silva.duarte.cruz@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Lucas Sá
lucas.seara.sa@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Mariana Moreira
mariana.t.moreira@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Miguel Pardal
miguel.j.pardal@ist.utl.pt

Rui Calado
rui.p.calado@ist.utl.pt

Rui Torres
rui.torres@netcabo.pt

Ana Filipa Ribeiro
ana.filipa.ribeiro@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Beatriz Albergaria
beatriz.albergaria@tecnico.ulisboa.pt
Patricia Estrela
patricia.estrela@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Rui Silva
rui.m.o.silva@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

High Performance Computing Support


Paulo Abreu
paulotex@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

Paulo Ratinho
paulo.ratinho@ist.utl.pt